Ecosystem-based adaptation and climate change vulnerability – Choiseul Province, Solomon Islands

A typical coastal village on Choiseul Island, in the Solomon Islands. Photo: Kat Gawlik

Adaptation context

Choiseul province (traditionally named Lauru) is the northern most province of the Solomon Islands. It consists of the main island Choiseul, Vaghena and Robroy Islands, and a number of smaller islets. The centre of the provincial government is on Taro, a small island on the north western tip of Choiseul island. The population of 26,372 people is growing quickly at a rate almost 0.5%…

View the case study on the weADAPT Adaptation Layer